Food, Health, Lifestyle

Day 48: How to Magically Turn Veggies into Pasta

You need spaghetti squash, tomato sauce, and a lot of cheese.  Like, a ton of cheese.

I was at vinyasa, so I wasn’t there to witness the witchcraft.  But, from what I could gather, you need to cut the squash in half (which takes the upper body strength of a WWE wrestler, apparently) and then you shred the guts of the squash.  That gets mixed with tomato sauce and cheese–again, maybe, because I was not present–and then baked for a while.  Sprinkle a little more cheese, bake until that’s all melty, and boom–it’s like you are eating a lasagna without the guilt or doughyness.

My kind of pasta.

I think in the beginning I said that giving up meals like pasta would be the hardest part, but if I could have a dish like that, I suppose I don’t really need pasta made with grains all the time.  I won’t totally leave it out, but white pasta probably won’t be a staple in my abode either.

VEGGIES FOR THE WIN.

Two months ago, that’s a statement I wouldn’t have said.  Well, maybe I would’ve been like “veggies, how nice, goes great on a sandwich,” but we were definitely purging more good veggies than all the other crap we should have been throwing out.

Finally bought myself new yoga clothes today; this way, I don’t feel like I have to do yoga laundry every single day, and the new tank is cute :).  I would like to buy some fun ones from Teeki, but my waistline needs to shrink at least a good 6-8″ before the pants would fit comfortably.  That’ll be my next big reward if I drop some more weight and shrink the pants size.

Check out their site, ladies–they look fun, and sustainable:

http://teeki.com/collections/shop

With that, good night Internet.

Photo credit: http://www.pinkbasil.com

Standard

2 thoughts on “Day 48: How to Magically Turn Veggies into Pasta

  1. Love your posts and love spaghetti squash. A sure way to take this versatile veggie up a notch is by making a Mac and cheese version. Add Velveta and parsley flakes and melt into gooey goodness. Don’t forget to add shaved Parmesan .

    Like

Leave a comment